Maple Mustard Balsamic Tofu

I stopped by one of my favorite restaurants on Friday (Sushido in Williston) and picked up one of my all-time favorite meals for lunch, the Tofu Don. This dish is freakin’ delicious! I can’t get enough of it. Best lunch I’ve had in a long time! And it got me to thinking it’s been a while since I’ve posted a tofu recipe.

Sushido Tofu Don, aka Perfection! I couldn't even wait to take a bit until I had taken a photo!

Sushido’s Tofu Don, aka Perfection! I couldn’t even wait to take a bit until after I had taken a photo!

I started thinking about what I had in my fridge and pantry and then an idea struck!

The ingredients!

The ingredients!

Maple Mustard Balsamic Tofu

Serves 2-4 depending on how you serve it.

Ingredients

1 package of tofu (I used a 19oz. package)

2 1/2 teaspoons Dakin Farm Zesty Maple Mustard

1-2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (depending on your taste)

1 tablespoon olive oil

Mix the marinade; apply it to the tofu; bake.

Mix the marinade; apply it to the tofu; bake.

Directions

1.Press tofu. I used my Tofu Xpress and pressed it overnight in the fridge.

2. Mix together mustard, vinegar and olive oil. While I recommend buying the Zesty Maple Mustard from Dakin Farm because it’s super good, if you don’t you can mix together maple syrup and a deli mustard. I don’t have measurements for this, just go by your taste.

3. Cut tofu into bite size pieces and place tofu in a container equipped with a lid. Drizzle on about 1/2 to 2/3 of the marinade. Place the cover on the container and shake to thoroughly coat the tofu. Place in the fridge to marinate for 20 minutes.

4. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Transfer the tofu to a baking dish and cook for 20 minutes.

5. Turn each piece of tofu over and drizzle more of the marinade on top. Place back in the oven and cook for another 12 minutes.

6. This tofu can be eaten as a snack, in a salad, eaten hot with rice and veggies, etc.

Yum! If you have remaining marinade you can drizzle it on the plate for a fancy presentation.

Yum! If you have remaining marinade you can drizzle it on the plate for a fancy presentation.

2 thoughts on “Maple Mustard Balsamic Tofu

Leave a Reply

