Chicken and Bean Tortilla Casserole

I’ve always really liked the Everyday Food magazine, so I was shocked at the end of last year when I was notified that the publication would essentially be no more. In it’s place I would receive Martha Stewart Living for the remainder of my subscription and every once in a while a small insert issue of Everyday Food would be included. I just received the March issue in the mail and after taking a moment to mourn the lost of the normal issues, I saw this recipe and knew I had to make it!

I just LOVE when the cheese gets brown and bubble-y—SOOO good!

I just LOVE when the cheese gets brown and bubble-y—SOOO good!

The original recipe was vegetarian, but I had some leftover Rotisserie chicken in the fridge and decided to add it in to pack the meal with even more protein. The choice is yours.

Chicken and Bean Tortilla Casserole

Recipe from the March 2013 Everyday Food

Serves 6

Ingredients

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 cloves garlic, crushed with a press (I just minced mine)

2 cans (15.5 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained

Salt

2 cans (14.5 ounces each) diced tomatoes with green chiles

1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves

10 corn tortillas

6 ounces shredded Monterey Jack cheese (I had cheddar on hand, so that’s what I used)

1/2 cup reduced-fat sour cream (I omitted this)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

2. In a medium pot, heat oil and garlic over medium and cook until fragrant, 2 minutes. Add beans and 3/4 cup water and bring to a simmer until beans are very tender, about 5 minutes. Mash slightly and season with salt. Meanwhile, in a blender, puree diced tomatoes with cilantro.

3. Lay 4 tortillas in the bottom of an 8-inch square baking dish. Top with one-third of the tomatoes, half the bean mixture and one-third of the cheese. Repeat, using 3 tortillas. Top with remaining 3 tortillas, remaining tomatoes and cheese. Cover with foil and back (or refrigerate up to 8 hours).

4. Bake, covered, until cheese is melted, about 15 minutes. Remove foil, reduce oven to 350 degrees and bake until heated through and cheese is browned, 20 minutes. Serve with sour cream if desired.

Leave a Reply

