A Broken Fridge and Homemade Tortilla Chips

Hello there! How are you? Did you have a good weekend? Mine was quiet. A friend and I went out for dinner on Saturday where I enjoyed some tasty vegetable sushi. On Sunday, I cooked, cleaned and did laundry. Also, and I’m VERY excited about this, I watched Psych all day. The 100th episode of Psych is airing at 10pm on Wednesday on USA. Starting at 7pm on Saturday, CLOO started airing all 99 episodes of Psych (which will run straight through until the 100th ep). I love that show! Yup, I’m a Psych-o! 🙂

So, you may have noticed that I did not have a new post last week. Sorry about that—let me explain. Over the weekend it became apparent that my fridge was on the verge of dying. What was the hint, you may ask? Well, everything in my fridge was frozen. Nothing like pickle popsicles! 🙂 Because of the available space in my apartment, I had to order what’s called an apartment-size refrigerator. I was supposed to receive this by Thursday (more on that later). In the meantime, I was using the fridge we have in a cabin on the property (we rent it out in the summer, so it was available for my use). I put the items I had in my freezer, along with my condiments in the other fridge. I decided that I would purchase a mini fridge to keep in my place until the replacement fridge arrived.

So on Thursday, I left work in the early afternoon so I could be home to receive the new fridge. The delivery man finally arrived at 1:00pm. He spent a half hour trying to maneuver his truck in the driveway (getting stuck on ice to boot!). He said that he was going to back up down the driveway and road so he could turn the truck around and back in. Forty minutes later and he still wasn’t back! I finally got a phone call saying that he decided he couldn’t get in the driveway, so he left. The company was going to transfer the fridge to another company and they would deliver the fridge, probably on Monday! Whaaat? The fridge was right there in my driveway and he never unloaded it and now I had to wait another four days to get something that was just in my driveway???!!!!!!!

And to make the whole thing even worst? I went to the backup fridge on Saturday to get some bread from the freezer and guess what? That fridge is now broken too! Great. Just great! Even more food I had to throw out. I came back to my apartment, looked at the mini fridge and told it it had better not decide to stop working. I’m so paranoid now that I keep opening the fridge to make sure it’s still cold inside. Suffice to say, it’s been an eventful week.

Anyhoo, I still have no full-size fridge, so cooking is limited. However, I did make some tasty tortilla chips. So tasty in fact, that I thought I should share the recipe with you. I decided to make these chips at home because I could not find any chips at the grocery store that didn’t contain sunflower oil (I’m allergic). Frustrated and wanting nachos, I found this recipe online and decided to give it shot. After all, I had all the ingredients on hand, so why not. And you know what? These taste as good as restaurant chips (in fact, my dad said they were BETTER than restaurant chips). Give em a try! You won’t be sorry.

Homemade Tortilla Chips

Recipe by Ruth Dearing on http://www.food.com

Total time: 15 minutes

Ingredients

1 package flour or corn tortillas (I used corn to make these gluten free)

2 tablespoons oil

Directions

1. With a pastry brush, paint a very light coating of oil on one side of each tortilla (I have an olive oil sprayer which made the job super easy).

2. Stack the tortillas greased side up in an even pile.

3. With a sharp, heavy knife (or serrated knife), cut the stack in half, then into quarters, then into eighths (I cut mine into sixths).

4. Separate the pieces and arrange them greased side up on a lightly oiled baking sheet (I didn’t oil my baking sheets and I was happy with the results).

5. Toast the chips in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes or until they are crisp and beginning to brown lightly; watch them closely so they don’t become over baked. I sprinkled salt on the chips after they came out of the oven. Yum!

Leave a Reply

