Turkey and Veggie Sandwich with Spicy Mayo

You never know when inspiration will strike! A little while ago I found myself in the grocery store, wandering around, waiting for something interesting to catch my eye. I happened upon the prepared sushi section where I found a favorite–veggie sushi. But this version was different; it had a beautifully red-hued mayonnaise splashed on top, zig zagging from piece to piece. I purchased the sushi and happily enjoyed it for a late afternoon lunch. This mayo added a whole new element to sushi that I had never experienced before, but would definitely enjoy again! A few days later I was thinking about what I would be making for meals for the week. With the thought of that delicious sushi still lingering in the back of my mind, I decided to create the meal again, but this time in the form of a sandwich!

The perfect meal? I could live on sandwiches!

The perfect meal? I could live on sandwiches!

Turkey and Veggie Sandwich with Spicy Mayo

Ingredients

The sushi included spinach, cucumber, and carrots, so that’s what I used for the sandwich. I also wanted the sandwich to have staying power, so I added some turkey as well.

A couple slices of your favorite bread (I used gluten free)

1 tablespoon mayonnaise

A couple drops of sriracha

A few dashes of hot sauce (to your liking)

Directions

1. Whisk together the mayo, sriracha and hot sauce. Slather it on one side of each slice of bread. Pile on the toppings and enjoy! I served mine with a side of chips and a couple of pickles.

2 thoughts on “Turkey and Veggie Sandwich with Spicy Mayo

Leave a Reply

